Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Ongoing Skype Chat!

SW-Fans.Net Poster

I'm a doctor, not a Jedi, Jim! What you're asking for is impossible! Oh, wait, I am a Jedi.

Has been a member for 5 years or longer

AKA
    Kaman
    Gamer IDs

Gamertag: MiriyaCailis Steam ID: Gyndar

Ongoing Skype Chat!

Okay, so this thought occurred to me sometime in the past week, but I haven't gotten on it until now.

I know we've used AIM since time immemorial, and I don't want to abandon that, but more recent members and some older ones are Skype users these days; it would be good to have a presence there, so I was thinking I'd start up a group chat for us on that platform to integrate members into the social community surrounding this site from where they're at.

This cool? Gimme your thoughts.
    Last edited by Ilias Nytrau; May 23rd, 2016 at 12:43:11 PM.

TheHolo.Net Poster

AKA
    Geoffrey
    Gamer IDs

Gamertag: Karagane Steam ID: Davendude
    I've done a permanent skype chatroom for previous boards I've written on. It's the hip young thing to do :-P I'm all for it. I've suggested it in the past but we've never really had a reason to divert from the AIM room since it serves essentially the same purpose with the only real difference being the programs used. I don't think there is a real advantage to either, but I definitely prefer Skype. Ultimately I don't think it super matters. It's more about remembering to include people and get them into the chatroom so they can participate.

Definitely in favour of being more inclusive and accessible... but having two chats on the go at once might be a headache. On the plus side, I will be able to use the same lame-ass jokes twice as often with only a limited number of people noticing ... on the downside, people are still going to be missing out on stuff if they aren't actively part of both.