• SOMA: Existentialism, robots and horror at the bottom of the sea!

I started playing SOMA a little over a month ago. I finished it last week. Steam clocks my playtime at around 22 hours, but some of that is time spent in the pause menu or at the start screen. My Youtube Let's Play series is around 13.5 hours. Thirteen and a half hours is a decent stint on a game whose chief mechanics are walking, running and hiding. But I can honestly say it was a superb experience and one I will never forget.

The game starts off very normal. Very terrestrial. You're a dood in his apartment, there are shelves and cupboards to rummage through, desks to poke around in, notes and emails scattered about for your reading pleasure - lots of exposition about the player characters life, albeit a snapshot of it. You play as Simon Jarret, and straight away you learn that you're not a well man. A car crash has left you with a very serious head injury resulting in brain damage - the extent of which isn't clear. But rather than conventional treatment, you're planning to meet with a post-graduate guy who offers to scan your brain and create a computer simulation of it, which he can then bombard with different treatments to find one that will work before applying that treatment to your actual brain. So off you go, and when you arrive, there's more desks and notes etc which present the opportunity to be a nosey bugger. You progress, you sit in a chair, you get your brain scan.

Everything goes dark.

Then your eyes open and the guy isn't there. You're not even in the same room. You're in some dark, creepy facility and there are robots lying around in pieces, machinery rumbling in the darkness, black goo leaking from the walls and ceiling and weird biomechanical growths protruding from the various points. WTF you may think to yourself. Then the Nopes come thick and fast when one of the robots wakes up and disappears amid tearing metal and clanging.